Friday, May 13 2022 saw the resignation of Uche Ogar – Minister of State for Mines & Steel Development. Those who had long before then resigned included Senator Godswill Obot Akpabio – Minister for Niger Delta Affairs, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu – Minister for Science & Technology and Hon Emeka Nwajiuba – Minister of State for Education which brought the total number of cabinet members who threw in the towel to four.

Transportation Minister, Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi told journalists over the weekend that he was going to hand in his resignation letter today, May 16 as he is a presidential aspirant.

Buhari on Wednesday at the Federal Executive Council Meeting held weekly gave an order that all ministers with electoral ambitions should resign latest by today May 16.

Labour Minister, Senator Chris Ngige withdrew his presidential aspiration as he said he now wants to focus squarely on his job. Surprisingly, Attorney-General and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami SAN also withdrew his bid to be the next Governor of Kebbi State after allegedly doling out close to one hundred luxury cars to some stakeholders in the state which was broken by anti-corruption website Sahara Reporters.

All the members of Federal Executive Council (FEC) and heads of Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) seeking party tickets, have till today to resign from the government.

Three other ministers, Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva; Minister of State for Niger Delta Affairs Tayo Alasoadura and Women Affairs Minister Mrs. Pauline Tallen are expected to leave government today as they all have electoral ambitions.

The youngest member of FEC, 38-year old Ahmad Zakari, the Presidential Adviser on Power, is also expected to hand in his resignation letter having obtained the form seeking nomination to run for governor of Jigawa State.